Gragg Takes First Win of the Season but Brown and Weltin Take the FMF Winter Series Championships

    Smoky Mountain Expo Center – White Pine, TN.  The final weekend of the FMF Indoor Motocross Winter Series had some of the best racing of the series at the Walters State Smoky Mountain Expo Center.

    On Friday night Robbie Horton (Hon) almost had the 250 pro class won, but a slight bobble and Marshal Weltin (Kaw) slid by and took the win. Mike Brown (Hus) finished 3rd, Cody Gragg (KTM) got 4th, Taco Short (Yam) got 5th over Eric Moore (Kaw), Russ Allen (Yam), and William Wilson (Yam).

    The 450 pro class came to the line with Horton and Brown tied in points for the championship. Gragg switched bikes during the week, going from a 2 stroke to a 4 stroke and that turned out to be a good move. Daniel Baker (KTM) holeshot and led before having problems. Gragg took over and claimed his first main event win of the season. Weltin got 2nd, Brown took 3rd over Horton. Baker held on for 5th with Short, Moore, Shawn Chapman behind him. Brown now had a 2 point advantage coming into Saturday’s final event.

    On Saturday Brown holeshot the 250 class and took it to the checkered flag. Weltin finished 2nd which was good enough to give him the championship. Gragg put in another strong ride for 3rd with Horton finishing 4th. “the Flying Taco” Short took 5th over Allen, Moore, and Chapman.

    In the 450 class Baker got the holeshot and run off. Horton started 2nd with Weltin and Brown behind him. On the second lap Weltin moved into 2nd and Brown went to 3rd while Horton was getting a soil sample. By the time Horton got back going he was back in 8th place. At the half way mark Weltin started his charge. For the last two laps he was all over Baker. Last lap, last turn Baker left the door open and Weltin dove inside and got by for the win. Brown got third which gave him the championship. Gragg took 4th while Horton worked his way back up to 5th. Short got 6th over Moore and Allen.

    The ATV Pro class was some of the best of the season. On Friday it was Haedyn Mickelson who took the win but that was after a moto long battle. Tyler Rogers (Hon) got the holeshot over Lucas Lamons (Hon) and Noah Meckelson (Hon). The whole pack was bumping and grinding in every turn. On the third lap Headyn worked his way into second then a lap later he got into the lead. Noah worked his way to second and they finished that way. Lamons took 3rd over Tyler Powers (Yam), Rogers, Grayson Eller (Hon), and Alex Huckabey (Yam). Saturday Noah Mickelson came back to claim the win over Rogers, Huckabey, Eller, Lamons, Haedyn, and Powers.